Sane but not too sane

YARNING

I love to knit. I love to buy yarn. My stash (yarn that is purchased by the knitter, with or without a specific project in mind, that is stored away and not knit) is getting out of control.

So this is my year of the WIP (work in progress), projects that will be hopefully done soon and the year of the DESTASH, which will mean looking through my already purchased yarn when beginning a project BEFORE buying more yarn.

As I said before, I love yarn. I love the colors, the combination of colors in variegated yarn, I even love the original names given to many yarns, I love the smell of it, but most of all, I love the feel of really soft yarn. If it doesn’t feel good on my neck, I won’t buy it.

Saying that, there is a lot of yarn out there that feels really good to me. I have two huge tubs, 1 smaller tub, and several drawers full of very nice yarn. I also have two shelves of sock yarn and another little cabinet of dishcloth yarn.  I really think it will be very possible to buy very little yarn this decade. At least my dear husband is hoping so.

But I need to get back to the title of this blog. YARNING….. Again I will refer to my grandson, Jonah. According to Jonah, I don’t knit, I YARN. Here is a recent conversation with Jonah: “What are you yarning, grandma?” “I’m knitting a dishcloth, Jonah.”  “What are you yarning with?” “It’s yarn, Jonah.”

It’s actually quite logical, really. Why wouldn’t you yarn with yarn? When I went to pick Jonah up from school, he wanted his teacher to meet me but mostly he wanted her to see what I was yarning. I love it.

I love Jonah who sometimes  makes more sense in what he says than most people I know. You see Jonah has high functioning autism. So he is definitely very literal. You just never know what is going to come out of his mouth. But that’s the beauty of it. That’s the fun of it. Jonah is Jonah.  I really need to carry a little notebook to write down Jonahisms. There are many and they make me laugh.

After being quite grumpy this last week, I need to laugh. I need to remember some of Jonah’s little sayings. They make me smile. He makes me smile. And that’s what we all need to do more often:  Laugh and Smile……

YARNING,  it makes me smile.

Comments on: "YARNING" (2)

  1. Linda Totman said:

    Much success Debbe with your blog. Blogging is on my to do list but I haven’t stepped into that land yet. It’s good to see a glimpse into your life and it will be fun following your yarning!

  2. I am glad you are yarning too! I LOVE the dish cloths!!

Leave a comment