Sane but not too sane

ONE WORD

My hands were frozen on the wheel in the 10 and 2 position. My body was tense. My head was throbbing. It was raining. NO it was pouring. NO it was a deluge and it wasn’t letting up.

What would make me drive to Wichita on a day like today? There were so many trucks on the interstate that I hardly could see the road when passing one. Again, why drive on a day like today?

One Word: GRANDCHILDREN!!   Gary had surgery a few weeks ago and we have been pretty much homebound. I needed a Bailey and Molly fix. I’ve been able to see more of Charlotte and Isaiah because they live here in Newton.  Skype is a wonderful tool to keep in contact with Jonah and Gabriel along with Jen’s blog.  (I can’t make it Ohio as often as I would like.)

Let’s get back to the weather for just a minute. It’s been so warm and dry the past few weeks. But last night it started to rain. There was lightning and thunder and even hail. Gary went out to check the gutters in the middle of the night. When he returned, he woke me to tell me that the ground was completely covered with pea sized hail. Cammy’s rain gauge registered 3+ inches.

When I walked the dog today at noon, it took awhile. Dottie doesn’t like water. She was more worried about dodging puddles than peeing. Of course it was pouring and we both got soaked.

But a little, no I mean, a lot of rain does not keep this grandmother away from her grandchildren.  When I returned home, Charlotte and Isaiah were waiting for me along with pizza and chocolate chip cookies.

ONE WORD: LOVE !!!!! That’s what family is all about.

P.S. I did not take the rain picture while driving. I was stopped at a red light.

Leave a Reply

