Sane but not too sane

I’m an AWANA secretary for T & T girls. Don’t you love the acronyms? AWANA stands for: Approved Workmen Are Not Ashamed and T & T stands for: Truth and Training.

Children, ages preschool thru middle school, come to our church every Wednesday from 6:30 to 8:00 to learn about the Bible, memorize scriptures and enjoy games together. I work with the 3rd thru 6th grade girls. The problem is I’ve been basically a bean counter. Don’t get me wrong. Someone needs to make name tags, do the scoring for the night, and make sure each girls gets the rewards she earns. But my job does not include working one on one with the girls.

So this year, I volunteered to help with AWANA Quizzing. I’m working with 6 amazing girls who are preparing to participate in the Annual Quiz Bowl. We meet at the church each Thursday night for 1.5 hours. I’m having the time of my life. These girls are full of energy and yet very thoughtful and curious.

Two weeks ago, I taught them an acronym to remember the order of Galatians, Ephesians, Philippines, and Colossians in the New Testament.  Go, Eat, Pop Corn. This week they brought me a bag of freshly popped popcorn.

I encouraged them, or should I say motivated them , to do their 3 page written homework and everyone did it.   I brought an array of soda pop and some small candy bars I stole from my husband’s stash. (I have a yarn stash. He has a Nestle Crunch Crisp stash.)

But I digress. This is the 3rd year in T & T for most of these girls, many of whom have been in AWANA since preschool. They range in age from 10-12 years old. THEY KNOW THEIR BIBLE and enjoy learning even more. I’m just amazed what this program has instilled in these girls. Don’t get me wrong. They have to study and study hard to pass each section and discovery.

In this world where children are trying to swallow teaspoons of cinnamon on YouTube, spending much too much time in front of the TV, and doing many things I never even heard of when I was their age, these young ladies are spending this month coming to church not once but two nights a week to learn even more about the Bible. Don’t forget! Most of these girls come to church regularly on Sundays too.

It has been such a blessing for me to work with them. But it’s been even more fun to encourage these young ladies as they prepare for eternity.

Comments on: "Those incredible T & T Girls" (1)

  1. Linda Totman said:

    I agree Debbe …these girls are to be commended. Sadly’ if there efforts were on you tube, it wouldn’t have very many hits. But their reward will be greater! And I’m not surprised that you are investing in their lives. You are to be commended too. Blessings to you. Linda

Leave a comment